The Fireworks Are Over

Hong Kong Fireworks; picture courtesy of Discover Hong KongCinema Scene: The weekend was dominated by SPIDER-MAN 2, as expected, while FAHRENHEIT 9/11 also performed quite well as it doubled the number of screens on which it was playing. Rounding out the Top 5 were WHITE CHICKS, DODGEBALL, and THE TERMINAL.

I fell victim to SPIDER-MAN 2, finding it wonderfully entertaining with a welcome amount of depth. Or maybe it was just that I finally had a few dollars I could spend on a summer movie matinee…

As far as Asian movies, it’s great to see GODZILLA and THE TWILIGHT SAMURAI making their way across the United States. ROBOT STORIES also continues with bookings both here and in festivals across the world. Bravo!

Upcoming on DVD: Completely updated. Next week comes 2LDK, directed by Yukihiko Tsutsumi, said to be a black comedy about two actresses and their battle within their own small apartment for supremacy. The disk is released by TLA; list price is $24.99, but you can find it online for less.

Site News: The site was down last week due to my own mix-up, but it should be up and running for the forseeable future.

I’ve decided to stop making promises about future content, because I have a horrible track record over the past couple of years as far as posting what I’ve written and writing what I intend to post.

