‘Hustle’ and ‘2046′ Big Winners

Tony Leung and Zhang Ziyi at the Hong Kong Film Awards - Image courtesy of the Associated PressThe 24th Hong Kong Film Awards presented Best Actor and Best Actress honors to Tony Leung and Zhang Ziyi for 2046 (pictured at right).

KUNG FU HUSTLE won Best Film for Stephen Chow, while Derek Yee won Best Director and Best Screenplay awards for ONE NITE IN MONGKOK.

The best presentation list of the winners and nominees can be found at LoveHKFilm.com.

For pictures from the ceremony, check People’s Daily Online.

For the wire service version, ABC News has the story from the Associated Press.

Though I saw precious few Hong Kong films this past year, 2046 is luxuriant, deep, and mysterious. I can’t wait for Sony Pictures Classics to release it in the US. And I’ve forced myself to wait for KUNG FU HUSTLE to open on April 8 because I want my first impression to be on the big screen.

ONE NITE IN MONGKOK has received good notices since its initial release, so perhaps these awards will encourage more adventurous programmers to include it at a festival or special screening soon.

