First Summer Friday

Hyatt Regency, Dallas - Series: Sun and the City - by Somdip Datta - http://www.princeton.edu/~datta/My home is in Los Angeles, but I haven’t been there for a month.

A temp job took me to San Francisco for a few days and then to Dallas for a few weeks.

Curiosity and a job possibility took me to Chicago last weekend. And now I sit in Dallas, wondering what to recommend for cinema-goers, and I barely know what time zone it is.

HOWL’S MOVING CASTLE is playing here in Dallas, and it’s still playing in Los Angeles and Chicago and, I imagine, other American cities, and I’m looking forward to finally seeing it this weekend.

SAVING FACE, a relationship comedy/drama by Alice Wu, is also playing locally, and deserves support. It’s also in Los Angeles and Chicago.

THE 36TH CHAMBER OF SHAOLIN is playing at the Los Angeles Film Festival tonight. Ann Hu’s BEAUTY REMAINS plays tomorrow afternoon, as does, separately, the shorts program BEFORE ANIME: JAPANESE ANIMATION 1925-1946. The Korean SPYING CAM plays Saturday evening, and Wong Kar Wai’s magnificent 2046 gets an advance screening also (it gets a repeat screening on Sunday afternoon).

Towering over the New York skyline, the New York Asian Film Festival continues its triumphant run. This weekend the festival splits into two venues, the downtown Anthology and the uptown ImaginAsian. If I could, I’d just park myself at one or the other and just see everything.

Wherever you live, I hope the weather is good to you this weekend. If not, the cinema beckons…

